Some mornings, I just like to experiment with breakfast.  When I get lucky, I post it. =P

This last weekend, I was volunteering at the Asian American Movement Building Conference; after the two-day circus of pure awesomeness, I was kind of pooped and wanted to nosh on something yummy. (Although much more to come about the conference; lots of pictures to wade through).

Believe it or not, but this recipe was inspired by Tomatoes Provencal, a traditional French tomato dish. I really, really wanted something baked in a dish to eat out of, and to eat it as soon as it came out of the oven (and after it cooled).  I’m a very veggie-centric person, but for me, protein = brain food (although in intense situations, broccoli really hits the spot!).

Asparagus (yeah, I like it), salami, sun-dried tomatoes, eggs, toast… BUTTER. This recipe is ridiculously simple and happy-making, and can be easily expanded to fit a bigger pan:

Morning Bake

Ingredients
2 slices toast
3 eggs
3 sun-dried tomatoes, sliced
3 slices salami, sliced thinly/slivered
1/2 cup slivered asparagus
cooking spray
salt & pepper, to taste

Ingredients

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Spray a small 12×6″ rectangular, oven-safe dish with cooking spray, then lay down the toast (you may have to squish!).

Crack the eggs over top.  Sprinkle with the tomatoes, salami, and asparagus.

Bake 20-25 minutes.  For a harder yolk, cook longer (25-28 minutes).

Eat! Enjoy! :D Om nom nom…!

 

