Though the oven is sort of my best friend in the kitchen, it does sometimes feel like a big hassle–setting the temperature, waiting for it to preheat, putting in whatever it is I’m making, letting it bake, then taking it out and remembering not to touch the racks else I burn myself… it takes a lot of brainpower. XD

I’m also a bit of a veggie-ho.  Though I don’t think I could give up meat (like Caroline!), I’m not too much of a carnivore either; I was raised in a veggie-focused household, and there was this movie I once watched thinking it’d be really cool, but instead, gave me a new perspective on alternative meats (from cow and pig to… well, dog and human).  There are times where I crave protein, but for most of my diet, I rely on greens.  And sugar.

So my friends Nancy and Aries came over for dinner the other day, and I wanted to make a nice salad; forgive me, but I think leafy salads are a pain-in-the-rear to do at home, unless they’re prewashed and out-of-the-bag!  Totally awful of me, but I’m more of a lazy bum than a salad spinner kind of gal… my favorite salads are also kind of heavy on the fatty stuff, like potato and egg. Heh.

We had a bit of a theme–Nancy’d asked for taquitos–and so I wanted to throw together a Latin-y, tex-mex kind of salad; first combination that sprang to mind was tomatoes and corn.  It’s yummy.  (My mommy also told me that it was pretty ^^).

Summer Corn Salad
Adapted from AllRecipes

Ingredients

1 bag frozen corn, thawed
3 large tomatoes, diced
1 large onion, diced
2 jalapeño peppers, diced
1/4 fresh cilantro, chopped
1/4 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons white vinegar
salt & pepper, to taste

Instructions

Bring a pot of lightly salted water to boil; add corn and boil 5-7 minutes.  Drain and cool.

Toss all the ingredients together, then chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour before serving.

Eat!

