Today was the last day of classes… and there’s really a perceptible frustration in the air!  All my roommates and I are scrambling to finish projects, study for final exams, and write last papers, but oh, in just a week and a half, it’ll be all over.  We’re restless but there’s also an insatiable urge to procrastinate from finishing the last dregs of this semester.  !!!!

Usually at this time, I also get the urge to just go out and buy things.  So… I did, if you consider clicking on Amazon and then opening the packages two days later “going out” to buy things.  I bought a book of crossword puzzles, the Monday ones, but despite the entire book being “tame,” it takes a collective mind to solve just one.  Lily, Jason and I will sit down with the book opened flat to the puzzle of the moment, squinting and passing a pencil every now and then to scribble in some letters.  When we get stuck… I’ll admit it. I look in the back, where the answers are, after which, I’ll write in the answer to one line and then Jason will endlessly shout “CHEATING, CHEATING, CHEATING!”

You can't tell, but Jason would say that I'm a pumpkin eater. Yes, I do eat pumpkin.

I meant for the crosswords to be for myself, and they became a group activity; ironically, the blender I bought for all of us has only so far been utilized by myself.  That, however, doesn’t stop the roomies from asking me to make them smoothies instead of doing it themselves!

The great thing about this blender is that it’s kind of tiny; it can bust out at most 17 ounces (my smoothies average out to be about 14 ounces), and it’s super easy to clean.  I really like icy, light, fruity smoothies–any yogurt in liquid-y form makes me gag–so beware of brain freeze!

Strawberry Kiwi Smoothie

Ingredients
1 kiwi, peeled
1 cup strawberries, hulled
1 cup ice
1/2 cup orange juice

Directions

Put all the ingredients into the blender, then pulse until smooth!

Grace dressed hers up by adding whipped cream and strawberries!

