Partly because our cupboards are full, partly because we’re bored, and mostly because we can, Rocky and I built our Leaning Tower of Tupperware atop the refrigerator.  That last container is about one inch away from the ceiling.  One false move and some poor soul will be besieged with plastic container after plastic container! :D

Martha (not that one, but similarly great–Martha of the awesome Thought Collector!) asked me last week what I was reading.

I am currently tackling:
  • Waylaid by Ed Lin; great, great book, a tiny little thing you can carry easily on the go.  Also adapted into a film, called The Motel, which, in a rare circumstance (preceded only before by The Devil Wears Prada and Julie & Julia), I like the move more than the book.  But you should still read the book (don’t read TDWP; it’s a waste of time. J&J was ok).
  • Cereus Blooms at Night by Shani Mootoo; if not for my Asian-American Literature class, I would probably avoid this book, and probably because of my Asian-American Lit class, I will avoid post-colonial fiction for a while.  This is really well written, though, and if you like magical realism or explorations of sexuality, you’ll probably dig this.
  • Bad Heir Day by Wendy Holden; awful.  Probably because I’m not really feeling into little-cognition-needed reading right now, but I couldn’t get past the first ten pages and just sort of threw the book down the library chute.
  • Fun Home by Alison Bechdel; for my English class.  It’s a graphic memoir, sort of like Maus, and their are hundreds of references to other works of literature throughout the work.  It’s interesting.
  • Nureyev: The Life by Julie Kavanagh; apparently, when a book is about 800 pages long and two inches thick, it’s a big book.  When this book arrived in the mail, though, I was as giddy as a child on Christmas morning–I adore, worship, revere Rudolf Nureyev like no other pop culture figure (yes, even more than Martha), and Kavanagh’s biography of his life is regarded as one of the best biographies ever written.  I concur; it is definitely great, even if you’re not into iconic ballerinos of the 20th century. READ THIS!
  • The New York Times Tame Crosswords by Will Shortz; not really reading… struggling through.  With some help from my roommates.
